Historic District Commission

Board Overview:

The Hagerstown Historic District Commission is responsible for guiding the City's historic districts and on landmark properties.  The Commission members are appointed by the Mayor & City Council for three year terms.  All members must demonstrate special interest in historic preservation and/or specific knowledge or professional/academic training in fields such as history, architecture, architectural history, planning, archaeology, curation, conservation, landscape architecture, historic preservation, urban design or related disciplines.


Term Expires
Leslie Allen  August 27, 2023
William Doug Carroll June 30, 2023
Glen Grant July 26, 2025
Michael Gehr June 30, 2024
Chris George November 30, 2023
Robert E. Powell June 30, 2023
Matthew Sherman  July 26, 2025
Ex-Officio Member - Tracy Carr June 30, 2025
Ex-Officio Member - Daniel Matonak June 30, 2024
Consultant - Paula Reed   -


The Historic District Commission meets on the second and fourth Thursdays of each month at 4:30 p.m
2022 Historic District Commission Meeting Schedule 

While the City is no longer under a Civil Emergency for the pandemic, it is still advisable for visitors to City Hall to take precautions as suggested by the CDC.  Social distancing and masking is recommended, although not required at this time.
Agendas & Minutes:
Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

July 14 Meeting Packet
Minutes are also available following approval. 
Most Recent Minutes | View All


Should you be interested in applying to serve as a volunteer committee member for the Hagerstown District Commission, please fill out the Boards and Commissions Resume of Interest Form.